Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
Softballjunkie223

Registered:
Posts: 74
Reply with quote  #1 
Bottom of the 7th inning 2 outs and a pitcher has a 2-0 count on the current batter. if shecwalks the winning run scores. The coach bring in a new pitcher who walks in the winning run. Does the new pitcher get the loss or does the previous pitcher get the loss since it technically is her batter she started off with?
LandLottery

Registered:
Posts: 99
Reply with quote  #2 
The pitcher who put the winning run on base gets the loss.
outofzone

Registered:
Posts: 705
Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandLottery
The pitcher who put the winning run on base gets the loss.


So would that be the previous pitcher? She was responsible for the kid who is now on third base and, will become the winning run if she is walked in.
jayrot

Registered:
Posts: 16,914
Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by outofzone


So would that be the previous pitcher? She was responsible for the kid who is now on third base and, will become the winning run if she is walked in.


Yes.
Scupino

Registered:
Posts: 102
Reply with quote  #5 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayrot


Yes.


Not according to the Auburn score keeper.
The new pitcher get the loss.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 524
Reply with quote  #6 
<< Bottom of the 7th inning 2 outs and a pitcher has a 2-0 count on the current batter. if she walks the winning run scores. The coach bring in a new pitcher who walks in the winning run. Does the new pitcher get the loss or does the previous pitcher get the loss since it technically is her batter she started off with? >> (softballjunkie223)

<< The pitcher who put the winning run on base gets the loss. >> (LandLottery)

LL is correct. 

But the interesting question in the scenario described above, to me, is this...
Which pitcher is the pitcher who gets recorded as giving up that last walk..?
Is it the first pitcher who left after the count became 2-0... 
or is it the second pitcher who threw the last two balls..?

I am not sure what the official rule is... 
but, imv... the first pitcher is the one who put the next pitcher in a hole - as she came into the game behind in the count 2 balls & no strikes. So if it were up to me - that walk should be recorded to the first pitcher. 
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,834
Reply with quote  #7 
My recollection of the rule is that if a relief pitcher takes over a 2-0, 2-1, 3-0, 3-1 or 3-2 count, a walk to that batter goes against the pitcher who was replaced
PBLC20

Registered:
Posts: 130
Reply with quote  #8 
3leftturns recalls correctly.  
This is straight from the NCAA Rules, 14.26.2.
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation: