Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
RELAX

Registered:
Posts: 343
Reply with quote  #1 
Have they called anyone out for being out of the box during the World Series? I haven’t seen it once, but I haven’t watched every single at bat either. That last batter was way out of the box even though it ended up being an out.
SECFan04

Registered:
Posts: 362
Reply with quote  #2 
Its insane, a particular player is literally stepping on the damn plate every time too and its not called lol



She's done it all season though
PH2

Registered:
Posts: 523
Reply with quote  #3 
She stepped out on 4 of the 5 pitches, all but the first pitch.  Almost stepped on the plate on the ball she hit plus one other pitch.
CoachZ

Registered:
Posts: 683
Reply with quote  #4 
We’re watching that, too. Why did you spend the season making a big deal out of it, if you were going to blow it off at the WCWS?
RELAX

Registered:
Posts: 343
Reply with quote  #5 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PH2
She stepped out on 4 of the 5 pitches, all but the first pitch.  Almost stepped on the plate on the ball she hit plus one other pitch.


That’s why I was really paying attention to that batter. She never connected with the ball though, until that last one. It’s like they decided not to call it in the World Series.
Nedpics

Registered:
Posts: 264
Reply with quote  #6 
It must be a deliberate decision not to call it. At first I thought it was because the umpire crews were from a league that didn't emphasize it. But now I realize that it was called a lot during the regular season by all leagues. Most slippers adjusted, but the ones who didn't are now being rewarded for not changing, sad to say.
HoustonBear15

Registered:
Posts: 316
Reply with quote  #7 
I think the rule is too difficult to consistently enforce and it should be uninstalled for next season.
RELAX

Registered:
Posts: 343
Reply with quote  #8 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonBear15
I think the rule is too difficult to consistently enforce and it should be uninstalled for next season.


Totally agree.

Well, we got our first call.
courtney26

Registered:
Posts: 2,899
Reply with quote  #9 
Ohhh we found this rule now? [confused] seriously umps
HoustonBear15

Registered:
Posts: 316
Reply with quote  #10 
And that batter also would’ve been out with the old rule as her entire foot was out of the box. That is much easier to enforce then trying to make a call of inches.
SECFan04

Registered:
Posts: 362
Reply with quote  #11 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonBear15
And that batter also would’ve been out with the old rule as her entire foot was out of the box. That is much easier to enforce then trying to make a call of inches.


This!


Its just too hard to enforce consistently 
feedman1971

Registered:
Posts: 2
Reply with quote  #12 
Saw this rule enforced egregiously wrong all year...some blues call it others don't & lots of them called it wrong.  It's the only rule in college softball where touching the white line is not considered in fair play or within the rules.  Rule needs to be changed or removed and return to the old rule.  
PBLC20

Registered:
Posts: 204
Reply with quote  #13 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonBear15
I think the rule is too difficult to consistently enforce and it should be uninstalled for next season.


I also agree.  We never know when it's going to be called.  Depends umpire to umpire and inning to inning.  It's almost totally random.  And then if it's being called and the umpire is giving 2-3 inches off the plate, slappers have no chance at all.
spazsdad

Registered:
Posts: 6,718
Reply with quote  #14 
Quote:
Originally Posted by feedman1971
Saw this rule enforced egregiously wrong all year...some blues call it others don't & lots of them called it wrong.  It's the only rule in college softball where touching the white line is not considered in fair play or within the rules.  Rule needs to be changed or removed and return to the old rule.  

And touching the line of the batters box is not illegal either. Touching the ground outside the line is.

__________________
#SCOTUS

Amish_TB

Registered:
Posts: 3
Reply with quote  #15 
The rule needs to be kept!  If you go back to the old rule, the same debate continues and now you give the slapper an additional 6 inches of plate coverage.  It is much easier to call now than before.  It will never be an easy call, but the current rule is far superior than the old one.
Softball_rules5

Registered:
Posts: 142
Reply with quote  #16 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amish_TB
The rule needs to be kept!  If you go back to the old rule, the same debate continues and now you give the slapper an additional 6 inches of plate coverage.  It is much easier to call now than before.  It will never be an easy call, but the current rule is far superior than the old one.


Slappers now need the extra 5-6 inches since the blues are not only calling them out of the box but also giving them 5 inches off the plate to lefties
slc1991

Registered:
Posts: 69
Reply with quote  #17 
I believe they called Casas out of the box in the Monday night game.
gatordawg

Registered:
Posts: 168
Reply with quote  #18 
you are right!
__________________
Gregory A. Langley
CousinMaynard

Registered:
Posts: 72
Reply with quote  #19 
The NCAA RulSE Committe doesn't pass rules so they can be called in the WCWS.
The NCAA RulSE Committee passes rules so it can keep schools from unapproved conferences from reaching the tournament and WCWS.

Examples:
San José State is about to be Tennessee: Call it.
P5 vs. P5 in the WCWS: No need to call it, the desired outcome will be achieved.



Softballjunkie223

Registered:
Posts: 1,056
Reply with quote  #20 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CousinMaynard
The NCAA RulSE Committe doesn't pass rules so they can be called in the WCWS.
The NCAA RulSE Committee passes rules so it can keep schools from unapproved conferences from reaching the tournament and WCWS.

Examples:
San José State is about to be Tennessee: Call it.
P5 vs. P5 in the WCWS: No need to call it, the desired outcome will be achieved.



the tin foil hat committee meets every Sunday's, Wednesday's and Friday's from 1p-4p
TheMom

Registered:
Posts: 14
Reply with quote  #21 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amish_TB
The rule needs to be kept!  If you go back to the old rule, the same debate continues and now you give the slapper an additional 6 inches of plate coverage.  It is much easier to call now than before.  It will never be an easy call, but the current rule is far superior than the old one.


Agreed! I would like everyone that doesn't like the new ruling to picture a batter that is not a slapper digging in and setting up with their heels just touching the chalk line and the rest of the foot extending through and past the river which is how the slappers used to be allowed to hit. This would put part of their feet, their knees, their arms and possibly even their head OVER the plate. It honestly is ridiculous that slapper were ever allowed to hit this way. Slapper can and will adjust their footwork and still be good hitters.
HoustonBear15

Registered:
Posts: 316
Reply with quote  #22 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMom


Agreed! I would like everyone that doesn't like the new ruling to picture a batter that is not a slapper digging in and setting up with their heels just touching the chalk line and the rest of the foot extending through and past the river which is how the slappers used to be allowed to hit. This would put part of their feet, their knees, their arms and possibly even their head OVER the plate. It honestly is ridiculous that slapper were ever allowed to hit this way. Slapper can and will adjust their footwork and still be good hitters.
It’s less about all of that and more of the idea that umpires are having trouble consistently implementing the rule. Instead of being able to determine that a batter’s foot was out of the box, they now have to make a decision of was the foot on the line or over the line, while also watching the ball/swing of the bat. With the old rule, the benefit of doubt did not go to the batter as many umpires would call the batter out if her foot was even close to being completely out of the box. Now the benefit of doubt goes to the batter as this is a much harder call to make. There were hardly ever complaints about missed out of the box calls until this new rule.
TheMom

Registered:
Posts: 14
Reply with quote  #23 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonBear15
It’s less about all of that and more of the idea that umpires are having trouble consistently implementing the rule. Instead of being able to determine that a batter’s foot was out of the box, they now have to make a decision of was the foot on the line or over the line, while also watching the ball/swing of the bat. With the old rule, the benefit of doubt did not go to the batter as many umpires would call the batter out if her foot was even close to being completely out of the box. Now the benefit of doubt goes to the batter as this is a much harder call to make. There were hardly ever complaints about missed out of the box calls until this new rule.


"New" being the operative word here. The chalk line is still fair as it was before, not sure how having the foot all the way in the box would be any less clear to determine than all the way out is but I will say it could not have been easy seeing the ground right in front of the plate with a catcher in front of them. Once the umpires are used to the rule and the slappers make their adjustments it will be easier for the ump to see the placement of the foot while watching the pitch with the new rule. I agree they wont always make the right call and they have missed the call a lot so far, it is not an easy job, but I do think it will get better and eventually be the improvement it is intended to be. Just because people are watching slappers feet more now and complaining doesn't mean the new rule isn't fair or good.

As a side note I am pretty sure the out of box infraction only comes into play if the ball is hit fairly, I spent all year listening to fans and even announcers complain about out of the box on foul balls. Anyone want to validate this part of the rule for me?
bhblue

Registered:
Posts: 2,180
Reply with quote  #24 
Any contact, fair or foul, with part of the foot on the ground outside the box is an out.

Just to clear up something you said earlier about a batter "setting up" with part of the foot out of the box. Batters must have both feet completely within the box to start with. That has been the rule for years.
TheMom

Registered:
Posts: 14
Reply with quote  #25 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhblue
Any contact, fair or foul, with part of the foot on the ground outside the box is an out.

Just to clear up something you said earlier about a batter "setting up" with part of the foot out of the box. Batters must have both feet completely within the box to start with. That has been the rule for years.


Thank you for the clarification on the fair/foul part, glad I didn't jump all over the fans about it :)

I guess in the part about setting up, I should not have worded it that way as I realize that would be illegal, but since batters that swing away move very little I was trying to illustrate a point. I guess I should have said jumps forward into that position after the pitch is released. I know that under the old rule that would in fact be legal but I think it does give new perspective on the rule as it was before.
Softball_rules5

Registered:
Posts: 142
Reply with quote  #26 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMom


Agreed! I would like everyone that doesn't like the new ruling to picture a batter that is not a slapper digging in and setting up with their heels just touching the chalk line and the rest of the foot extending through and past the river which is how the slappers used to be allowed to hit. This would put part of their feet, their knees, their arms and possibly even their head OVER the plate. It honestly is ridiculous that slapper were ever allowed to hit this way. Slapper can and will adjust their footwork and still be good hitters.


If umps could figure out the zone, slappers wouldn’t need the river as you say. Still contend pitchers are getting 3-5 inches off the left corner even outside the river.
AUWhiskey

Registered:
Posts: 150
Reply with quote  #27 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CousinMaynard
The NCAA RulSE Committe doesn't pass rules so they can be called in the WCWS.
The NCAA RulSE Committee passes rules so it can keep schools from unapproved conferences from reaching the tournament and WCWS.

Examples:
San José State is about to be Tennessee: Call it.
P5 vs. P5 in the WCWS: No need to call it, the desired outcome will be achieved


I think the first time I saw it called this year was against Victoria Draper of Auburn when she hit a triple against Long Beach.
bhblue

Registered:
Posts: 2,180
Reply with quote  #28 
Mom - I'm not a big fan of the new rule, even though it's really easier to call than the old one. Many non-umpires have said differently. IMO, there were far too many missed in OKC by what is supposed to be the best we have.

Sr5 - The zone is, and has been for years, an issue. It's a shame that more importance is put on how you look calling the pitch than whether you got the call right.
Softball_rules5

Registered:
Posts: 142
Reply with quote  #29 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhblue
Mom - I'm not a big fan of the new rule, even though it's really easier to call than the old one. Many non-umpires have said differently. IMO, there were far too many missed in OKC by what is supposed to be the best we have.

Sr5 - The zone is, and has been for years, an issue. It's a shame that more importance is put on how you look calling the pitch than whether you got the call right.


I appreciate the acknowledgement of the zone issue and I’m a little shocked that you even mention how one looks calling the game. I’ve seen far too many blues this year have to become “the show” behind the plate. We tell our girls there’s a reason they have full length mirrors at home and that’s to practice the “big call”. Best umpires games are the ones you don’t remember the umpire. Prime example: was at my daughters P5 game and had a father who’s daughter was on the opposing team. He tells me, watch this guys behind the plate, he’ll call our first two hitters out of the box within three pitches to lead off the game. Sure enough it only took two. Made this huuuuuuge scene calling both. Did the exact same thing the weekend before to them. They asked him if he liked the new rule and he said no but it is what it is. Here’s the shocking part, states he was disappointed he didn’t get one of them two more times because he should’ve. This is why coaches go bsc over calls and wouldn’t sit to have lunch with umpires.
bhblue

Registered:
Posts: 2,180
Reply with quote  #30 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Softball_rules5
I appreciate the acknowledgement of the zone issue and I’m a little shocked that you even mention how one looks calling the game. I’ve seen far too many blues this year have to become “the show” behind the plate. We tell our girls there’s a reason they have full length mirrors at home and that’s to practice the “big call”. Best umpires games are the ones you don’t remember the umpire.


Too many umpires call the game worried about who (other umpires) may be watching instead of doing their job and calling the game in front of them.  The fear that they're being evaluated keeps them from relaxing and, IMO, contributes to a lot of the mistakes that are made.  If you pay attention to their body language, it's pretty obvious how nutted up most are.  This fear is ingrained in them by those in charge, which is a mistake IMO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Softball_rules5
This is why coaches go bsc over calls and wouldn’t sit to have lunch with umpires.


Coaches go bsc for a lot of reasons, often on correct calls.  It's a shame that would keep them from having lunch with someone.  Both parties might be better for it.
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.