Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 11,238
Reply with quote  #31 
To quote Osiris: Moronical (not your post, but the idea that safe is ever a call on a base that hasn't been reached)

In the majors, you can always tell the runner hasn't touched the plate and can still be tagged when the HP ump makes no signal.... just like the blue in the Army-Lehigh play
daughtersbiggestfan

Registered:
Posts: 98
Reply with quote  #32 
Different game, different set of rules.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 11,238
Reply with quote  #33 
Different set of rules?????

Whatever
daughtersbiggestfan

Registered:
Posts: 98
Reply with quote  #34 
MLB does not have the same rules as Little League, or NFHS, or Pony or any other baseball association.  And while many rules do interchange, baseball is not softball and even in NFHS there are vast differences between the baseball and softball rule sets.  They are completely different games, completely different rule sets and vastly different umpire mechanics.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 11,238
Reply with quote  #35 
You run to a base and are safe or out.

Period

How about something really NUTS, like logic prevailing?

Does anyone really believe that calling someone safe when they haven't touched the base should be acceptable... even in 10U softball?


daughtersbiggestfan

Registered:
Posts: 98
Reply with quote  #36 
Well I hate to tell you but the example I gave of the play at 1st base, the mechanic would be the same in baseball.  So yes, you call the runner safe when they have not touched the base.  Not making a call is tipping that something has happened and the umpire is not suppose to tip either team to infractions. 

You can complain all you want, but a tag attempt of the runner was made and required a call and that is a completely separate issue from the runner not touching the plate.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 11,238
Reply with quote  #37 
Hate to tell you, but the MLB manner of not calling safe, unless the plate has been touched, is logical.

Anything else is not
Dewey

Registered:
Posts: 24,423
Reply with quote  #38 
daughtersbiggestfan - I ask my same question.  Stolen base attempt and runner slides two feet wide of second base and a bit beyond in order to avoid tag by SS.  Does base umpire signal safe or wait until this play is finished?
__________________
President Obama kept Republicans out of the White House for 8 years and added two excellent justices to the Supreme Court.  Those two things alone make him one of our greatest Presidents of my lifetime.
daughtersbiggestfan

Registered:
Posts: 98
Reply with quote  #39 
Im really not understanding why its so hard to understand a play has been made and needs to be ruled on.  Yes, if the runner slides by a tag at 2nd base there was a play and it needs to be ruled on.  At that moment in time she is safe, the tag was missed and there should be a safe signal indicating so.  If the fielder manages to tag her before she gets back to 2nd, now she is out.
MadDogsDad

Registered:
Posts: 2,178
Reply with quote  #40 
So a different scenario, runner hits a ball deep in the 5/6 hole, SS fields but the throw is not in time. If the runner steps over first base and does not touch the base, the mechanic would be to call her safe even though the first baseman catches the thrown ball from the SS with her foot on the bag? The only way to call the batter/runner out would be if the fielding team appeals?
__________________
And if I don't like what you say then...

your kid sucks.
daughtersbiggestfan

Registered:
Posts: 98
Reply with quote  #41 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadDogsDad
So a different scenario, runner hits a ball deep in the 5/6 hole, SS fields but the throw is not in time. If the runner steps over first base and does not touch the base, the mechanic would be to call her safe even though the first baseman catches the thrown ball from the SS with her foot on the bag? The only way to call the batter/runner out would be if the fielding team appeals?


Exact play already covered in post 30. Yes, and appealed prior to the runner returning to 1st.
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.