Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
Softball_rules5

Registered:
Posts: 92
Reply with quote  #1 
This has probably been debated til the end of days, but why not fire some people up. For offensive interference, does the runner have to make contact for the call to happen? Please do not say what "most umpires will call" because I think we all know that. Rather, what your interpretation of the rule is. Fire away.
bhblue

Registered:
Posts: 1,942
Reply with quote  #2 
I'll assume you mean contact with a fielder so, yes, contact is required for interference with one exception:

12.19.1.4.2 ....The base runner may not at any time unnecessarily wave her arms or verbally distract the fielder.


Edit:  This also assumes you're asking about NCAA rules.

Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation: