Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 482
Reply with quote  #1 
Did you see the BLOWN call by the replay official a few days ago?? 
It happened in a Yankee game. The Yankees were down to their last out in the 9th inning. The batter hits a deep fly ball to RF. The right fielder goes all the way back to the wall and jumps up - and come down with the ball in his glove. 

Everyone thinks the game is over. The replay on TV shows the catch. The big board in the stadium shows the catch. Everyone in the TV booth - and all the fans at the park think the game is over. Even all the players think the game is over.

But the "catch" is being reviewed by some guy in NYC (I believe). So, now... the teams are waiting around for the official confirmation - that the game is over.

Somehow... the one person in the universe who doesn't think it was a catch - just happens to be the replay official. He makes the team go back out on the field - and puts the batter on first base. 

Now Judge is the Yankee batter. Luckily... he grounds out - and the game is NOW over.

The replay - clearly showed the outfielder's glove over his head, up by the wall, FACING HOME PLATE.

How on earth... can a batted ball ricochet off the wall - AND INTO the fielder's glove... 
IF IT IS FACING HOME PLATE!

It was physically impossible for that batted ball to have gone into the outfielder's glove - IF it had bounced off the wall.

Worst call ever!

Because it wasn't a call by an umpire making a call at live speed (with only one look at it).
This was a call by some moron who had it on video - and got to watch it again and again - in slow motion.

I am guessing the only possible explanation for such a call... is that perhaps the guy's last name is Steinbrenner.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,716
Reply with quote  #2 
Link to video, please.... on an extremely short hop, a glove opened toward the plate could still secure such a ball
scrybe

Registered:
Posts: 174
Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryLouisAaron
Did you see the BLOWN call by the replay official a few days ago?? 
It happened in a Yankee game. The Yankees were down to their last out in the 9th inning. The batter hits a deep fly ball to RF. The right fielder goes all the way back to the wall and jumps up - and come down with the ball in his glove. 

Everyone thinks the game is over. The replay on TV shows the catch. The big board in the stadium shows the catch. Everyone in the TV booth - and all the fans at the park think the game is over. Even all the players think the game is over.

But the "catch" is being reviewed by some guy in NYC (I believe). So, now... the teams are waiting around for the official confirmation - that the game is over.

Somehow... the one person in the universe who doesn't think it was a catch - just happens to be the replay official. He makes the team go back out on the field - and puts the batter on first base. 

Now Judge is the Yankee batter. Luckily... he grounds out - and the game is NOW over.

The replay - clearly showed the outfielder's glove over his head, up by the wall, FACING HOME PLATE.

How on earth... can a batted ball ricochet off the wall - AND INTO the fielder's glove... 
IF IT IS FACING HOME PLATE!

It was physically impossible for that batted ball to have gone into the outfielder's glove - IF it had bounced off the wall.

Worst call ever!

Because it wasn't a call by an umpire making a call at live speed (with only one look at it).
This was a call by some moron who had it on video - and got to watch it again and again - in slow motion.

I am guessing the only possible explanation for such a call... is that perhaps the guy's last name is Steinbrenner.


Lucky for whom, HLA?  I doubt Judge would have thought it lucky. [wink]
daughtersbiggestfan

Registered:
Posts: 98
Reply with quote  #4 
Because the ball didn't ricochet off the wall into the glove.  The ball hit the glove and was coming out the top of it when both the ball and glove hit the wall pushing the ball back into the glove.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,716
Reply with quote  #5 
So, the ball DID hit the wall before it was secured?
daemon

Registered:
Posts: 149
Reply with quote  #6 
Here? [mlb.com]
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,716
Reply with quote  #7 
OK... THAT is so clearly touching the wall before being gloved. Really, HLA? Side-eye
TruDat

Registered:
Posts: 915
Reply with quote  #8 
It's funny how you set up this thread with such conviction and the call by the replay umpire was so easy. The ball hit the wall. He was not the one person in the universe that couldn't see it right. You were.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,716
Reply with quote  #9 
Just head-shaking, the certitude. Calls a lot into question.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 482
Reply with quote  #10 

Ooooops!

My bad!

I want to thank daemon for providing that link to the video of the "catch" (or non-catch). Unfortunately, we TV viewers of that game never got to see the stop action frame which does show part of the ball touching the wall (while partially in the glove). They did show replays of the "catch" a few times (but never in super slow motion where it looked like a catch - and there was never a still frame shot of the ball partially touching the wall for the viewers to see). And the announcers went on and on - about how that WAS A CATCH. I also saw it replayed later on sports center - and they were still shaking their heads about the call.

My apologies to the replay official... 

because HE GOT IT RIGHT.

I was completely hoodwinked by the media, I tell ya.

In the famous words of Emily Litella...

"Never mind."

++++++++++++++++++++++

I was going to try and put the still frame picture of the "catch" which clearly shows part of the ball touching the wall (while partially in the glove), but I could not figure out how to put a screen grab into a post.

If any of you know how to put a print screen pic (or screen grab) - into a post here - and want to share that info here... I would appreciate it.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,716
Reply with quote  #11 
Quote:
If any of you know how to put a print screen pic (or screen grab) - into a post here - and want to share that info here... I would appreciate it.
a mystery of Stonehenge proportions.... they want their URL like we used to want our MTV
supernatural

Registered:
Posts: 182
Reply with quote  #12 
HLA is deluded, any close call against teams he likes is egregiously wrong, any close call for his team is 100%, no doubt about it, correct. I'm pretty shocked he's not still arguing this one.
CowboyJOX

Registered:
Posts: 89
Reply with quote  #13 
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernatural
any close call against teams he likes is egregiously wrong, any close call for his team is 100%, no doubt about it, correct.


Seemingly 99 percent of every fanbase in any sport honestly. I'm sure most umps/refs would agree.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 482
Reply with quote  #14 
<< HLA is deluded, any close call against teams he likes is egregiously wrong, any close call for his team is 100%, no doubt about it, correct. >> (supernatural)

It is you, who is delusional. 
There have been two plays that you and I disagree on - and you make it out to be hundreds. 
That... is delusional.

And as soon as daemon provided the excellent video (which provided conclusive evidence) of the play that this thread is about - I immediately thanked him for doing so. And I apologized to the replay official - because he got it right.

On the opposite side of the ledger... there is you, who did not provide any conclusive evidence to support your position. Myself and other posters have specifically responded to your posts - telling you that the evidence you have provided - does NOT prove your position. Yet you continue to act as if your position has been proven... when it has not. Another example of your delusional state.

If you can post actual conclusive evidence to support your position - then do so.
Until then... stop acting like a two year old who has lost his binky. 
scrybe

Registered:
Posts: 174
Reply with quote  #15 
Certain posters need to lighten up on HLA.  Remember, your posts are also out there for everyone to see.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 482
Reply with quote  #16 
<< Lucky for whom, HLA?  I doubt Judge would have thought it lucky. [wink] >> (scrybe)

I had no rooting interest in the ML baseball game. I tuned in mostly to watch Judge bat. And I am glad I got to see him swing one more time. But, at the time this call was made, it appeared that the team in the field had been screwed by the replay official. So when Judge grounded out - it seemed like that was a "lucky" thing... because the "bad" call did not influence the outcome of the game.
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,716
Reply with quote  #17 
The Hammer lost the reams and reams of blue font.

Nothing wrong with that
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 482
Reply with quote  #18 
<< The ball hit the wall. He was not the one person in the universe that couldn't see it right. You were. >> (TruDat)

On the contrary...
Pretty much everyone that was watching that game on tv and at the park... thought it was a legal catch. I was very far from the only one.
supernatural

Registered:
Posts: 182
Reply with quote  #19 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyJOX


Seemingly 99 percent of every fanbase in any sport honestly. I'm sure most umps/refs would agree.

True to an extent, HLA takes it to a whole new level though.
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation: