Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment   Page 8 of 8     «   Prev   5   6   7   8
PH2

Registered:
Posts: 277
Reply with quote  #211 
Curious - for  college games, is the home team scorer the official stats keeper?  I assume they don't allow both teams to keep their own "official" stats.  You can't (or shouldn't) have one team scoring 3 runs as unearned and the other 3 earned runs.  Is college that organized, or not?
3leftturns

Registered:
Posts: 10,839
Reply with quote  #212 
Home is official
sftbll4ever

Registered:
Posts: 211
Reply with quote  #213 
And your coach can always go and appeal to the head score keeper.  We've had that done many times in our 3 years.
jayrot

Registered:
Posts: 16,916
Reply with quote  #214 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sftbll4ever
And your coach can always go and appeal to the head score keeper.  We've had that done many times in our 3 years.


Sadly it took a no-hitter away from Jolene Henderson a few years back when they played GT.  Ashley Thomas clearly got on by a hit, but the scorer called it an error.  Ruling was changed, and the great Ashley Thomas had her hit recorded correctly.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 532
Reply with quote  #215 
<< I'm sure the biggest stat that might be off is if its a hit or error. Most people have trouble with that. I've even seen some questionable hits in college. >> (Soonereagle)

I see questionable "hits" in college... even during the post season when those games are being televised (and are under more scrutiny)... and I see them in ML baseball games as well. I was a SS who loved playing defense... so I have a pretty high standard for what I think should have been fielded and turned into an out. In my view, too many plays are called "hits" that should have been ruled errors. If I am making such a determination - I generally go by this: Was it a play that a "good" defensive fielder should have made..? If yes, then it should be ruled an error. I find that when such a call is up for debate (while watching a game), I lean way more toward calling it an E than a hit - most of the time. 
Soonereagle

Registered:
Posts: 27
Reply with quote  #216 
I've kept books for our travel team some. If the fielder should have made the play its an error. i think its harder to define in softball. You have some slappers that can basically beat out a slow hit ball. If the fielder bobbles it, it can be difficult to tell if they would have beat it out anyway. Plus a rule a lot of people don't know is a fly ball that lands untouched in the outfield is a hit. Even if its really a misjudged ball by the fielder. Softball is faster moving with closer bases so to me its a little harder to score than baseball.
__________________
Chris
scrybe

Registered:
Posts: 190
Reply with quote  #217 
When playing OU and the batter hits a ground ball on the infield, a good rule of thumb is to mark it down as an out. [wink]

Just kidding, of course. I enjoy being called out by Lefty so I thought I'd give him a little incentive.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 532
Reply with quote  #218 
<< I've kept books for our travel team some. If the fielder should have made the play its an error. i think its harder to define in softball. You have some slappers that can basically beat out a slow hit ball. If the fielder bobbles it, it can be difficult to tell if they would have beat it out anyway. Plus a rule a lot of people don't know is a fly ball that lands untouched in the outfield is a hit. Even if its really a misjudged ball by the fielder. Softball is faster moving with closer bases so to me its a little harder to score than baseball. >> (Soonereagle)

"If the fielder should have made the play its an error." 
This is the part that can be debated. Each official scorer has their own version of what should have been fielded and turned into an out. Some are a lot more lenient than others. 

After college, I played a LOT of fast pitch softball - and I love the game. It is definitely faster than baseball. But... in regard to your statement that "some slappers can basically beat out a slow hit ball, and if the fielder bobbles it, it can be difficult to tell if they would have beat it out anyway"... here is what I have to say about that. We see times when a ground ball is hit pretty much directly at the SS and a fast lefty slapper beats the throw to first base in a close bang-bang call (and a hit is scored). If there was any bobble by the SS - then that should be an error. Now here is the part that always gets me. If the SS fields the ball cleanly and still can't get the runner out at first base... then the SS is NOT positioned correctly for that particular batter/runner. You have to know the batter's speed - and the fielder's arm strength (and their ability to get rid of the ball quickly) to determine WHERE the fielder should be positioned for each type of batter. 

A normal ground ball hit to the SS (or 2B) should never result in a slapper beating the throw to first base - unless it was bobbled (or otherwise misplayed). If this happens - then the SS (or 2B) was not positioned correctly. If the runner is super fast (or the fielder has a weaker arm) then the fielder needs to be positioned closer to home plate. If you are making the play cleanly - and still can't throw out the batter/runner - then you are playing TOO DEEP. Even though this can't be scored as an error - it actually is a coaching error, imv. 

There are a couple of exceptions to this general rule - but they are not "normal" gb. If it is a gb that bounces high off a rock hard infield - then all bets are off. Any fast batter/runner can beat out a ball that hops high off a rock hard infield just about every time. The other exception are slowly hit ground balls that find their way just past the pitcher and that are not reachable by either the third baseman - or the first baseman. These seeing eye gb will almost always be hits. If a batted ball dribbles into the exact perfect area... it's nearly impossible to defend.

Throwing error - or a hit? When there is a bad throw to first base - then the scorer needs to determine if that throw would have beat the batter to first base (and been an out if it had been on target). If the batter's foot has reached first base before that throw would have gotten there - then it should be a hit. If the ball would have beaten the batter to first - then it should be an error (no hit for the batter). It seems they miss this ruling from time to time (especially when you can watch it on replay). 

"Plus a rule a lot of people don't know is a fly ball that lands untouched in the outfield is a hit. Even if its really a misjudged ball by the fielder."

If that is an actual rule in the score keeper's handbook... then imv - that is a stupid rule. How about a pop up that lands untouched in the infield (or in foul territory)? My view is that when a player misplays a fly ball by coming in a step or two - before realizing that they should have been going back... and then they miss it by a foot... that should be an error. They bleeping misplayed the ball. For me - that is the definition of an error. Same thing on the infield - and in foul ground. If you misplay it - then it should be an error. Where did this "it wasn't touched" idea come from..??? Had to be from someone who didn't know what the bleep they were talking about.

Another example: The LF comes charging in and tries to make a diving catch on a ball that is falling in front of her. She comes up short - and the ball bounces past her and the batter ends up at third base. This should not be ruled a triple. It should be a single and a 2 base error. It should be entirely irrelevant if the ball was touched by the fielder - or not. 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here is another error ruling that really bugs me. The catcher makes a good strong throw to second base as the base runner from first is trying to steal second base. But... the middle infielders got mixed up about who was supposed to be covering second base - and the throw goes into CF. The catcher gets an E on this play as the runner makes it to third base... but he did absolutely nothing wrong. The E should go to whichever of those infielder was supposed to be there. The infielders need to make it clear to the scorer who was at fault - so it can be scored correctly.
HenryLouisAaron

Registered:
Posts: 532
Reply with quote  #219 
Here is a nice quote that Paige Lowary made recently: 
"Thinking about the past year, I'm most proud about cutting down my walks by SEVENTY. 103 to 33. I didn't know where it was going. Sorry if I hit you."

Lowary's much improved control was a huge key in her cutting her ERA in half... from 3.25 in 2016 to 1.53 in 2017. She also cut her EBH allowed in half (from 38 to 16). Lowary also cut her HBP in half (from 19 to 9). So her free bases (BB+HBP) went from 122 to just 42. 
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation: