Ultimate College Softball
Register Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
Mitsuo

Registered:
Posts: 16
Reply with quote  #1 

Ok, had an umpire in an  ASA 18U game behind the plate.  On any called strike, whether it was the first strike or a called third strike, would simply say "strike."  Many of the batters on both teams were confused because they weren't sure if they were out because he didn't say, batters out, or youre out.  When the coaches asked him to please say if they were out on a called third strike he said "no" because I don't have too!  Is he correct?  Umpires are NOT suppose to say if the batters out on a called third strike?  Can someone refer to the rule book on this? Thanks!

BombsAway

Registered:
Posts: 58
Reply with quote  #2 
I don't know what rulebook says but the batter should know the count.
Mitsuo

Registered:
Posts: 16
Reply with quote  #3 

so....back to the post....anyone know the rule? Thanks

BillSmith

Registered:
Posts: 6,538
Reply with quote  #4 
Mitsuo-

What you are describing is not a rule, rather an umpire's mechanics, procedures to which they adhere, verbal and visual cues on their rulings and the course of play.

To my knowledge, the only time an umpire was requested by the umpire's manual to add, "...batter's out", was when first base was occupied and there was less than two outs. Rule set once included a proviso that if batter ran to first, drew a throw, that runner could be returned. No longer the case in ASA or any other rule set. 

Umpires just say, "STRIKE". They do the bow-and-arrow on called strike three. That does make it obvious that the batter is out, but...

It is the batter's and coaches' responsibility to know the count and number of outs. That is why an umpire will say when queried, "I have two-and-one." He says HAVE because that isn't binding. If her/his partner has the correct count or the home book can verify a corrected number of outs, then play resumes with the reality, not what the umpire mistakeningly advised you.

Lastly, this was 18-under ASA? By then, all concerned shouldn't need the umpire to keep track for them. If you consider that harsh,

__________________
Bill Smith
West Bay Nuggets
NorCal Women's Fastpitch Summer League
info: nuggetsoftball@aol.com

Sometimes you are the mole, sometimes the mushroom.
Mitsuo

Registered:
Posts: 16
Reply with quote  #5 

thank you......that makes sense....this umpire said he didn't have to call her out and even went as far as not calling a few pitches....when asked if it was a ball or strike.....he wouldn't answer

BillSmith

Registered:
Posts: 6,538
Reply with quote  #6 
Mitsuo-

If it was ASA, that umpire is required to give a verbal call of "ball" and "strike" with the addition of the visual gesture on strike. No matter what went down between you both, he should not have compromised his integrity and make capricious calls.

__________________
Bill Smith
West Bay Nuggets
NorCal Women's Fastpitch Summer League
info: nuggetsoftball@aol.com

Sometimes you are the mole, sometimes the mushroom.
tenfour

Registered:
Posts: 1,093
Reply with quote  #7 
Common sense dictates that an umpire be as informative as possible. This umpire appears (from what was stated) to have had a bee in his bonnet for some reason.
Were I the UIC of that tournament and been aware of what had transpired in that particular game, that umpire would not have worked any more games.  

__________________
Some people have all the answers but not necessarily the right answers.
BillSmith

Registered:
Posts: 6,538
Reply with quote  #8 
10-4,

Agree with you, but for the sake of discussion...

Have you ever administered an FYC call?   

__________________
Bill Smith
West Bay Nuggets
NorCal Women's Fastpitch Summer League
info: nuggetsoftball@aol.com

Sometimes you are the mole, sometimes the mushroom.
tenfour

Registered:
Posts: 1,093
Reply with quote  #9 
Bill, I don't even know what an FYC call is. Right over my head, I guess.
I certainly do not have the skill or knowledge to be an umpire although I like to
think I do have a certain amount of commonsense. 

__________________
Some people have all the answers but not necessarily the right answers.
BillSmith

Registered:
Posts: 6,538
Reply with quote  #10 

Sports official slang for what happens when a coach rides a touchy arbiter too hard. I can give you 2/3rds of the acronym. Imagine you will be able to guess the remainder.

F You Coach

Got it?




__________________
Bill Smith
West Bay Nuggets
NorCal Women's Fastpitch Summer League
info: nuggetsoftball@aol.com

Sometimes you are the mole, sometimes the mushroom.

Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation: